Emergency Alert Bar

◄ Back
October 11, 2022 11:10 AM

EAA Declares a Decrease to Stage 2 Permit Reductions for the San Antonio Pool

May 23, 2023
EAA Declares a Return to Stage 2 Permit Reductions for Uvalde Pool San Antonio, TX – The Edwards Aquifer Authority (EAA) declares a return to Stage 2 Critical
Period Management permit reductions for Uvalde County under the purview of the Edwards Aquifer Authority within the Uvalde Pool effective Tuesday, May 23, 2023. It was officially confirmed that the 10-day average at the J-27 index well rose to 845 feet above mean sea level (ft msl). Hence, the EAA formally declares Stage 2 permit reductions.
EAA Critical Period Management Plan for the Uvalde Pool requires Edwards groundwater permit holders in Uvalde County to reduce their annual authorized
pumping by 5 percent. These reductions apply to all Edwards Aquifer groundwater permit holders authorized to pump more than three acre-feet annually. This includes industrial and agricultural users, as well as, water utilities authorized to pump water from the Edwards Aquifer for delivery to its respective customers. All affected permit holders must also report their pumping totals to the EAA on a monthly basis.
Residents and businesses within those counties who receive their water from a public water system should follow their respective water provider's directives regarding water use practices.
It should be noted that the EAA does not enforce lawn watering activities or other general water limitations enacted. Any enforcement of such activities or limitations is enforced by a municipality. The EAA does not regulate the general public, but instead regulates Edwards well owners with withdrawal permits authorizing their right to pump from the aquifer. The EAA is a groundwater conservation district that manages, enhances and protects the Edwards Aquifer, a major groundwater system serving approximately two-and-one-half million
South Central Texans. The EAA jurisdiction spans across 8 counties including Uvalde, Medina, Bexar, and parts of Atascosa, Caldwell, Guadalupe, Comal and Hays counties.

Facebook Twitter Email